Farm Update – June 2016

It has been a while since I wrote up a blog post, so I figured I would post a general farm update.

Rabbits

Quite a lot of happenings going on with the rabbits this year so far! It’s been hard to keep up with our plans, but it is a process.

Loss of Saul

It is with a heavy heart that I have to report that our head buck, Saul, died last month – the only rabbit I got around to posting about on this website. We used some old fencing that was here before we moved in for the rabbitat runs, but it was definitely not rabbit proof. The spacing of the wire was almost four by eight inches! We had hoped that the chicken wire on the bottom would be enough to keep them in, but Saul was the first to figure out he could jump right through the fence a little ways up.

In the process of chasing him down after the third or fourth escape, he must have thrown out his back. He did not last a week after the incident. It was super sad!

After Saul, a doe got out, and we couldn’t catch her for over a week! But we did eventually catch her and return her to the rabbitat. Needless to say, we did upgrade the outer fence after these two escapades!

Current Status and Future Plans

We are currently buckless, asides from a few young bucks who are still growing up. The runs are a little overrun, and we’re having to keep them inside every other day. This is less than ideal, but between the gardens and outside work, we have not gotten around to finding a solution to this issue.

We’re planning on growing the litters out in fairly large rabbit tractors (movable pens) once they have been weaned. The head buck will also have his own tractor, allowing us to better control breeding.

The main rabbitat structure will house four to eight or ten does, which we will then breed two or three times a year. This has obvious benefits, the greatest among them actually giving the girls a break between pregnancies, which this system has had a bit of issues with.

Last week I was interviewed by Flavours of the West Coast, with a friend of mine whose farm I used to live and work at, at her farm Mossy Banks about the rabbits! She’s been setting up her rabbits in a similar style as what we’ve been doing here. Somehow the show found her online, and got in touch for an interview, and she invited me along. It won’t be airing until next January, but it’s still pretty cool.

Gardens

I admit, I was fairly ambitious with the gardens this year. I expanded them two or three times the size of what it was last year. I also signed up for the Cowichan Green Community’s Edible Garden Tour – which may have been a bit premature. I got a part-time job at a local farm, 8 1/2 Acres, which has been fantastic – but it sure limits the amount of time I have for the gardens!

We got hit by hail last week. Yep, June 12th, in the Cowichan Valley – hail! I didn’t think I was hit too bad – I only noticed a couple pea plants cut down, managing to get hit on the stem. But now, a week later, I’m definitely noticing some damaged plants. My passionflowers have all slowed down, and are turning a little yellow. My tomatoes definitely don’t look happy, but they’re still alive. It’s a little sad, but I think things will still happen, despite the hail.

Chicks!

We bought baby chicks! Ten Rhode Island Reds and ten Barred Rock. They’re getting pretty big already, but are still super cute!

Farm logo and Business Cards

After a few weeks of brainstorming, doodling, and discussion, we have settled on a farm logo and business card design! What do you think?

3 thoughts on “Farm Update – June 2016

  1. Sad to hear that Saul has died! He was beautiful. Love your farm logo! I would buy stuff of you if I was closer! 😉 How are the little chicks doing? Probably not so little anymore now! X

    Like

      1. Also, thanks for wanting to buy from me! It means a lot, even though I don have anything for sale yet, and you live far away. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

